Guitarists or Musicians of JrockOne!

I’m learning guitar, and I have an Ibanez GRX20. What effect pedals or multi-fx pedals should I be looking into for that crunchy, early 2000s VK tone if I wanted to do song covers of, say, PIERROT, Janne Da Arc, etc.? Or, basically, to get that Alternative Rock sound? Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

I’m just learning about tone and pedals myself, but I think if it’s distortion you’re looking for, then a ProCo Rat or Boss DS-1 would be a good starting point.

2 Likes

Perhaps you may get yourself a Line6 spider amp, they can be very versatile. I learnt to play with an spider IV and it never fell short of the VK sound I was looking at the time.

1 Like

Think that the Boss DS-1 tone can be replicated on Boss’ multi-effects panel?

Yeah, I think you could get acceptable overdrive and distortion tones from those multi-effects. Would they be exactly same as the analogue effects? Probably not quite. But if you’re not obsessed with authenticity and analogue tones, multi-effects could be for you.

Personally, I tend to lean more towards the “real thing”. So what I’d do to sound like those guitarists, would be to get a bunch of classics like the DS-1, Rat and Tube Screamer and see where they take me. I bet those pedals are super common on visual kei records. Especially the ones from Japanese companies like Boss and Ibanez.

2 Likes

I use a Zoom G5, thinking about investing in the new Mooer board. I get a lot of nice tones from the cab sims/pedals on it.

Edit: I should also mention, I’m playing a Grassroots Sugizo model guitar; The original 90s S-type.

1 Like

Pedals are mostly boss like 4 of them i have 2 zvex pedals and one ibanez pedal

Guitars are 1995 prs custom 24, ce 22 (with bird decal on the neck near the notes)
Prs is just great all around once you get comfortable you can go through others like fenders or strats

My sig is 2002 ibanez rgt3120 dropped to tune b expensive 6 string guitar