Interview with BUTTERFLY SCISSORS

Butterfly Scissors is a new international band consisting of members, KENGHH and Kala (solo, Tidebringer). JRockOne had a chance to talk with them about their new project.

(all photos by Jun Tsuneda)

° You guys just started out your activities as a band, please introduce yourselves. Who is Butterfly Scissors? Why did you choose that name and is there any special meaning to it?

Kala: My name is Kala, I’m the vocalist and co-producer/writer in Butterfly Scissors. I’m a content creator for Cloud9 esports, one of the biggest gaming teams on the planet, and am a solo musician outside of this project. Honestly, the name holds no significant meaning - it only made me feel ‘star power’ when I originally heard it. I was able to see branding and the logo/name everywhere in the world, so I felt drawn to it.

KENGHH: My name is KENGHH.I am a guitarist and beat maker.The name BUTTERFLY SCISSORS comes from the idea that a butterfly has two wings and scissors has two blades.
I thought it matched the name very well since our project is just Kala and me.

° You both come from different countries originally, how did you guys get to know each other and how did the band form?

Kala: Kenghh reached out to me over social media, as he was introduced to my solo music by a number of his friends from SLOTHREAT. They are fans of my solo project and thought it would be cool if Kenghh made some music with me. It started pretty slowly, and honestly it was kinda difficult to work together at first because Japanese music production is so different from what I’m used to, but once we got our work flow together (he would write a bunch of material and send it to me, I would structure and arrange the songs and then write vocals), things got a lot smoother.

KENGHH: I contacted him first. My good friend Katsuya from SLOTHREAT told me about Kala’s music a few years ago.I was shocked when I heard Kala’s music for the first time.