Interviews with Old School Visual Kei Bandomen

Suuuup everybody! So now that I’m officially done with battle royale bracket things, I decided to delve into some of my loose associations and get some interviews with some old school visual kei bandomen! Not expecting much traction on this one, so I’ll treat this like a blog of sorts to keep my interviews. This will be English only as I never keep the Japanese originals, and most of these will be retired guys, so I hope someone out there gets some interest from these!

#001: Yasunori Henmi (逸見泰典)
Famous bands: Black Berry, JITTERBUG (ジルバ)

1. What first got you into visual kei?
  • I actually didn’t know about visual kei music and its style. I started my band activities during my school days with a taste of “pop glam rock”.
  1. What made you want to form a visual kei band and form Black Berry?
  • Because when I was a student, I was immersed in music. Society tends to think of it on a vertical scale called “ranking”, but I felt that music is on a horizontal scale.

3. How did you feel when Black Berry suddenly became popular (around 2000)?
I never felt Black Berry was all too popular, but I felt happy that I could play “catchball” with the music. (I don’t know what he means by “catchball”, but cool.)

1. Black Berry was a representative band in the softkei movement. What was it like when softkei was really dominant in the early 2000s?
  • While there were a lot of bands that looked alike, it seemed that more and more bands began to find their own individuality in their music at that time.

(Black Berry, Henmi on the far left)

1. I saw that in July of 2002, Black Berry were sponsored by HMV. What did it feel like to receive that honor?
  • In the category of “visual kei”, it was a rare occurrence, but perhaps because the music was pop rock, it was received well!
  1. Why did Black Berry disband?