Must-hear/Essential JRock albums

Under the motto:

Here comes the thread for essential non-VK albums.

Personally i dont have huge opinion on it.
Yeah not even metalcore-wise i dont have a huge opinion, maybe because most people swear on Crystal Lakes Helix, but i personally prefer The Sign.

So i am looking forward to hear everyone else’s opinion.

9 Likes

VICTIMOFDECEPTION Godless, first Makito album is very good. This new Earthists. album is a great one for beginners. MY FIRST STORY’s All Lead Tracks is amazing. I swear by ASIAN KUNG FU GENERATION’s Solfa album, and anything pre-2009 the pillows is golden. Maximum the Hormone’s ぶっ生き返す is a good album, as well as Ellegarden’s Eleven Firecrackers. Bump of Chicken’s Bump of Chicken I 1999–2004 Bump of Chicken II 2005–2010 compilation should be in a museum somewhere. Any ACIDMAN album, Tomoyasu Hotei’s Soul Sessions, Char’s Singles 1976-2005. Okay I’m done. I may love VK, and metal, but my background is J-Rock lol. So many great J-Rock best of albums.

2 Likes

UVERworld - Timeless (2006)

BIGMAMA - 君がまたブラウスのボタンを留めるまで (2011)

KELUN - KELUN (2008)

ONE OK ROCK - 人生×僕 (2013)

…though my personal favorite is Nicheシンドローム
CROSSFAITH - THE DREAM, THE SPACE (2011)

Flumpool - Unreal (2008)

Happy End - 風街ろまん (1971)

Spitz - ハチミツ (1995)

Ok, I need to namedrop a couple more personal favorites (w/ bias):

BINECKS - Change and Chain (2010)
RADWIMPS - RADWIMPS4~おかずのごはん~ (2006)
ストレイテナー (Straightener) - STRAIGHTENER (2011)
Aqua Timez - ダレカの地上絵 (2007)
No Regret Life - Sign (2006)

4 Likes

Hey, I forgot one =P @CAT5

School Food Punishment - Air Feel, Color Swim (2007)

2 Likes

Bump of Chicken - Yggdrasil (2004)

ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION - Sol-fa (2004)

UVERworld - Timeless (2006)

FLOW - Microcosm (2010) - oddly enough, the two tracks with PVs are in my opinion the weakest songs.

Survive Said The Prophet - s p a c e [s] (2018)

Special shoutout to L’Arc~en~Ciel’s Ray and Ark albums (1999) as they are truly special too.